Papers Past  -   -  Star  -  Christchurch   -   Results of the University Entrance Examinations  -   December  1885  - 

Don't forget to use the  Edit  and  Find  to highlight a name on this page

Home page:

for a newspaper copy,   please quote day and date of paper  and number  beside  entry

Thursday  4 February  1886 

Junior Scholarship     -    in order of merit -

Adam Begg, Dunedin;              Joseph Moss,  Dunedin;       and   Isabella Ecclesfield,  Christchurch;  equal,        Lilian Williams,  Christchurch;
Henry J.Carter,  Auckland;      J.M.Marshall, Wanganui;               Hugh Shrewsbury, Auckland;                         Mary M. Sinclair, Auckland;

Medical Preliminary Examination  - 
J.E.Gunn,  Dunedin;              H.C.Barclay,  Dunedin, (completion);       W.A.Chapple,  Dunedin (completion);        L.E.Hardy, Dunedin;     
J.W. Longford, Dunedin;      J.N.Matthews,  Wanganui;                        S.A.Gibbs, Nelson;                                   W.Elliott,  Dunedin;     
C.G.Morice, Nelson;           J.A.Fullarton, Invercargill;                           F.Armstrong, Dunedin;

Matriculation  - 
The following passed for matriculation in both Arts and Sciences 
J.E.Duncan, Wellington;              Edith E.Johnson, Nelson;          Margaret Nicoll, Dunedin;           Clara G.Berry, Auckland;           E.J.Jones, Timaru;        J.N.Collins,  Nelson;                  Margaret Bowker, Timaru;       E.E.Vaile,  Auckland;                  A.C.Lewis,  Wellington;             A.W.Atkinson,  Dunedin;      E.W.Beaglehole,  Wellington;     C.J.Junks, Auckland;                Kate M. Laing, Christchurch;      E. Mossman, Christchurch;         C.B.Rout, Invercargill;      F.J.Druton,  Wellington;             Lilian Manning,  Christchurch;    A.Brabant,  Auckland;               A.H.Jones.  Timaru;                    F.H.Williams,  Auckland;      J.H.Reed,  Invercargill;              C.Williamson,  Auckland;          R.H.Hogg,  Dunedin;                  John Fullarton, Invercargill;           J.Wither,  Nelson;              J.McKenzie, Timaru;                 A.McLaren,  Christchurch;        Violet Turton, Dunedin;

The following have passed for Matriculation  in Science  - 
Alicia M.Thompson,  Dunedin;      Annie McCormack,  Christchurch;      A.S.Malcolm,  Greymouth;      Eva Colebrook,  Auckland;

The following have passed for Matriculation  in Arts  -
Elizabeth Gibbs,  Wellington;         Emily McInman,  Christchurch;          Mary King,  Wellington;                 G.Calvert,  Auckland;        
J.Torrance,  Dunedin;                   G.C.Gosnell,  Christchurch;              R.Barrett,  Dunedin;                         Florence Fletcher,  Christchurch;    
J.M.Greig,  Dunedin;                    Eliz. Gorrie,  Auckland;                    E.H.Button,   Auckland;                   Grace M.Wright,  Dunedin;               
Elvina Dransfield,  Wellington;       E.McColl,  Wellington;                    Margaret Bitton,  Timaru;                  Helen Briss,  Invercargill;             
A.Warburton,  Dunedin;                Laura Bell,  Auckland;                     Laura Kingston,  Christchurch;         J.Hutchison,  Dunedin;                  
J.Kelly,  Dunedin;                          A.McLean,  Dunedin;                      H.L.Darton,  Dunedin;                     Elizabeth Pickering,  Christchurch;  
R.Church,  Dunedin;                      Mary Maginness,  Christchurch;       Edith Galbraith,  Invercargill;            Rosina Thompson,  Auckland;      
G.Rennie,  Christchurch;               W.M.Jackson,  Auckland;               C.G.Smeaton,  Dunedin;                   J.Smyth,  Invercargill;                  
E.L.Cresswell,  Nelson;                 W.N.Malcolm,  Dunedin;                  E.H.Anderson,  Wellington;           Elsie Shrewsbury,  Auckland;       
N.F.Page,  Wellington;                   W.J.May,  Auckland;                      J.N.Pollock,  Dunedin;                    C..A.Jisdall, Auckland;      
C.Owen,  Wellington;                   M.Gillfedder,  Dunedin;                     T.J.Maling, Christchurch;                S.Fairhall,  Nelson;                
J.Gray, Dunedin;                          Marion Kidd,  Auckland;                 Margaret Adamson,  Dunedin;          G.Balsille,  Dunedin;                      
 Christine Binnie, Dunedin;            L.Sangster,  Invercargill;                  W.A.Kennedy,  Christchurch;           C.J.Wray,  Wellington;                    
Clara Catley,  Nelson;                  P.F.Battley,  Auckland;                   A.Matthews,  Dunedin;                      Helen Alexander,  Dunedin;        
 D.Ross,  Dunedin;                         W. Fussell,  Timaru;                     J.A.Fitzgerald,  Dunedin;                     Harriettee Wood, Timaru;   
J.A.Hyndman,  Christchurch;        A.N.Scott,  Auckland;                    Margaret Todhunter,  Christchurch;    D.N.Flavell,  Auckland;      
C.H.Graham,  Dunedin;               Elizabeth Beck,  Christchurch;          J. Kay,  Greymouth;                          Jessie Henderson,  Dunedin;              
A. Cuthbert,  Napier;                  Alice. L. Gilbert,Auckland;               Blanche Hennah,  Timaru;                  A.W.Bailey,  Timaru;                   
Emily Robinson, Invercargill;       Annie Truman,  Dunedin;                  Ethel Purchas, Auckland;                   J.Grant,  Dunedin;                        
Kitty Hounsell,  Nelson;              Mary Cameron,  Dunedin;                May C. Morrah,  Wellington;             J.N.Whittaker, Auckland;           
Agnes Tindel, Christchurch;         W.E.Bethune,  Wellington;               W.Erskine-Smyth,  Wellington;          H.B.Vogel,  Wellington;          
Martha Jackson,  Christchurch;     F.E. Wilson,  Dunedin;                    A.Marshall,  Dunedin;                       W.A.Ash,  Dunedin;       
Edith Cook,  Dunedin;                 J.Matheson,  Dunedin;                     A. Matheson,  Wellington;                  W. Morpeth,  Wellington;      
Sarah Holland, Auckland;            J.M.Beattie,  Dunedin;                     W.E.Bruce,  Auckland;                      Margaret R.Ross,  Dunedin;             
Mary J.Fraser,  Dunedin;           T.M.Laing, Christchurch;                   W.H.Stuart,  Dunedin;                        D.McNeil,  Invercargill;                
 Eva Matthews, Auckland;            E.Blakiston,  Christchurch;             J.E.Burns,  Auckland;                          F.R.Field,  Wellington;                   
J.Grace,  Wellington;  

The following,  who were candidates for junior scholarshios,  have qualified for matriculation  - 
(1)  Both in Arts  and Science  - 
Edith Mary Adams,  Thames;      Emma FlorenceAinsworth,  Nelson;      H.C.Gagnall, Thames;             M.W.Butterfield,  Christchurch;     
R.P. Clarkson,  Christchurch;      W.B.Colbeck,  Wellington;                  J.A. Fullarton,  Invercargill;      F.H.Green,  Christchurch;          S.J.Harrison,  Dunedin;     
Letitia McKee,  Christchurch;      Isabella McLandress,  Dunedin;           J.A.Scott,  Dunedin;                 J.B.Thomson,  Dunedin;            W.Watters,  Dunedin;      S.L.Williams, Christchurch;     

(2)  In Arts only  -
F.Armstrong,  Dunedin;          E.H.Clark,  Christchurch;      T.R.Cresswell,  Christchurch;         F.H.Fish, Ashburton;              H.H.Fooks,  Ashburton;         
C.B.Henry,  Wellington;        A.R.Kirk,  Christchurch;        J.W.Mail, Invercargill;                     L.Thomson,  Invercargill;        R.M.Tolhurst,  Wellington;       
J.H.Turner,  Christchurch;      T.S.Weston,  Christchurch;   

Beverley Evans
Christchurch  NZ
21 November  2008

Home page:
Papers Past